Understanding the Internal Quality Assurance of Assessment Processes and Practices Award

Understanding the Internal Quality Assurance of Assessment Processes and Practices Award

Apply Now Enquire Now

The qualification has been revised and replaces the old V1 Verifiers Award to confirm the requirements of the new RQF (Qualifications and Credit Framework).

Mandatory theory unit for IQA awards which is also a good award for managers who need to know about the quality assurance process without be required to as an Internal Quality Assurer. This course allows you to quality assure assessment practices in the workplace and also to lead teams of staff engaged in quality assurance. This qualification replaces the old V1 award and is the new award for professionals wanting to internally verify NVQ's and other qualifications in education and training

What are the qualifications about?

• Two training workshops held at the Printworks Campus.

• One-to-one meetings with your tutor after the workshops at agreed locations.

• All assessment and quality assurance activities relating to your qualification.

• Registration and certification fees with the awarding organisation.

Duration 3-6 Months
Study mode Part Time
Start date Various
Campus Printworks Campus
Course code 32379-01
Fee £300

What you learn

Unit 1

The aim of this unit is to assess the knowledge and understanding a learning and development practitioner requires for the internal quality assurance of assessment. This unit is suitable for anyone wishing to gain knowledge about internal quality assurance. For example, teachers, tutors, trainers, programme managers, course leaders or staff working in quality departments both in private training organisations and colleges of further education.

These qualifications will be required for:

  • Assessors and verifiers involved in National Vocational Qualifications (NVQs) for the next three years. Those who deliver these qualifications will need to be qualified to meet the requirements of the NVQ Code of Practice and Sector Skills Councils assessment strategies.
  • Assessors and quality assurance staff who deliver QCF qualifications that use the term ‘NVQ’ in their title will also need these qualifications. 

Depending on the assessment strategies set by individual Sector Skills Councils, some staff, who are assessing and quality assuring qualifications within the QCF that do not use the term ‘NVQ’ in their titles, but whose purpose is to confirm occupational competence, will need to hold IQA or EQA qualifications.

These qualifications would be helpful for teachers in schools who deliver vocational qualifications with applied learning, such as BTEC Firsts and Nationals.

Benefits / Skills you will develop

You will develop the knowledge and understanding behind the principles and practices of Internal Quality Assurance.  Once you have completed this unit you can then progress onto unit 2 which is the practical unit for actually quality assuring.

Where is the course delivered (facilities / classrooms)

Two training workshops held at the Printworks Campus. The rest is delivered on a one to one basis at a time and place to suit you.

Entry requirements

Candidates must be over 19 years old to undertake the course. Ideally be making the progression from the TAQA to the IQA qualification as an academic route as part of your CPD.

You must have good literacy and numeracy skills. We strongly recommend you have completed the Level 3 Award in Assessing Vocationally Related Achievement (Assessors Award).

You must be able to demonstrate competency through work place assessment. You must have at least 2 candidates to assess as part of the training.

How to apply

For more information, please contact Louise Reed

e: louise.reed@leedscitycollege.ac.uk

m: 07717 578 324

Campus Locations

Printworks Campus

Hunslet Road
West Yorkshire
LS10 1JY
0113 3861997
Nearest train station
Leeds Central Station, 0.7 MilesWebsite