Fire Safety and Risk Assessment NEBOSH

Fire Safety and Risk Assessment NEBOSH

Apply Now Enquire Now

This course is for managers and supervisory staff who need to ensure that their organisation meets its responsibilities under fire safety legislation. Courses leading to this qualification should equip holders to carry out fire risk assessments of most low risk workplaces and identify the range of fire protective and preventative measures required. It is therefore also suitable for people moving into fire safety advisory roles.

Duration 6 weeks (1 Thursday a week)
Study mode Part Time
Start date 02/09/2019
Campus Printworks Campus
Course code 57306-01
Fee £660 per person

What you will study

The course covers the legal requirements under the Regulatory Reform (Fire Safety) Order 2005 (RRO), the range of fire protective and preventative measures required and how to undertake fire risk assessments in most, low risk workplaces. No previous health and safety knowledge is required.

The NEBOSH Fire Certificate is divided into two units (while touching lightly on the NGC1 unit), each of which is assessed separately: 

  1. NGC1Management of Health and Safety (Plan, Do, Check, Act)
  2. FC1Fire Safety and Risk Management
  3. FC2Practical Fire Risk Assessment 

How you will it be assessed?

NGC1 and FC1 are taught units each assessed by one two hour written examination. Each written examination consists of ten ‘short-answer’ questions and one ‘long-answer’ question. All questions are compulsory. Candidate scripts are marked by external examiners appointed by NEBOSH.

Unit FC2 is assessed by one four hour fire risk assessment carried out in the candidate's workplace. The assessment is marked by the accredited course provider and externally moderated by NEBOSH. Candidates will be required to complete the FC2 assessment within 14 days of sitting the examination for units NGC1 and/or FC1.

Entry Requirements

Written and verbal understanding of the English language

Basic health and safety knowledge, IOSH Managing Safely, NEBOSH General Certificate.

What's Next

NEBOSH Certificate or NEBOSH Diploma (if you do not already possess these qualifications).

Campus Locations